Beginning a journey to live more simply…

What a beautiful day! Evan headed into the woods to help teach a W.E.A. Outdoor Living Skills course with SIU this morning (lucky), but I decided to take advantage of the fantastic weather and work on finishing our front deck. He is usually the voice of our blog, but I thought since he was away I would give it a try.

You could no longer tell we used cedar boards for the deck, but as I sanded the rich colors began to reappear. Next, I applied the first coat of the weather seal. I used the same stuff that we used on our siding–happened to have half a can still left–plenty for the small 4×8 deck. The seal really brought the cedar’s color alive! Once dried I will apply a second coat.

It seems we are not the only ones to decide that the tiny house might make a good home–a bird has began to build a nest on one of the shelves of the pantry! There does not appear to be any occupants as of yet, but we shall see. The bird may be getting in under the door or through the unfinished gray water pipe. I will say the birds construction went up much quicker than our own.

Comments on: "Weather Proofing the Deck!" (6)

  1. Robyn Phillips-Simons said:

    Your decks looks great. I think the bird has found the right home.
    I really enjoy your blogs. My dream is to someone soon have my own EPU home. I live on $726.00 disability each month and don’t have much of anything left to save but that doesn’t stop me from dreaming and hoping it will happen soon as I’m getting old.
    Thanks again for your blogs.
    Robyn

    • Thanks Robyn! We were pretty flattered that the bird(s) chose our ‘nest’ for theirs. It was with heavy hearts that we removed the nest. It really wouldn’t have worked out for either party in the long run…

      We wish you the very best as you turn your Epu dream into your reality. There are so many things that stack up against all of us, and can make dreams feel very far away. Then one day we get brave and chase them down anyway.

      You will be in our hearts and thoughts as we continue chasing ours,
      Evan & Gabby

  2. vagabondingparttime said:

    Looking good! I think your blog has pushed us over the edge- we begin trailer shopping this week … I’m sure your blog will continue to help us along- we know nothing of construction πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve been following your blog ever since the Tumbleweed website posted about your tiny home adventure on their site! πŸ™‚ It’s so fun to see how far you guys have gotten! And the deck looks fabulous (oh, and the bird nest too)! Are you guys going to leave that bird nest there? πŸ˜›

    • Thanks Krystal! It’s been so much fun. Sadly, we will need to remove the nest, though we were quite flattered and blessed that it chose our tiny home for its…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

