Beginning a journey to live more simply…

Saturday, January 14th, 2012:

The first few weeks have been a BLAST!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments on: "Beginning a Journey to Live More Simply." (14)

  1. Lisa Barker (Bickel) said:

    So happy for you two! And very proud of you too! You had a dream and made it a reality! I look up to you! You’re both very aspiring!

  2. Rita Stone said:

    I have thoroughly enjoyed the journey!! You did a great job and gave many wonderful tips.
    I hope to continue to hear from you. Whenever I check my e-mails, yours is the first one I open. Thank you for keeping us all in touch with your wonderful “tiny” project; however, I consider it a “big” one in my book!! I’ve thought about how neat it would be to retire in one of these but I could never make it up the steps to sleep! I’ll bet your cats love the adventure and the climbing! I’m a cat lover, too!
    Again, thanks!

  3. You’re so very welcome, Rita. We’ve enjoyed this experience more than we could ever have anticipated. Thanks for coming on this adventure along with us.

    Best,
    Evan & Gabby

  4. I feel famous! We made the blog! ;) Your tiny home is awesome! I’m so glad we got to hug you both before you hit the road for your new adventure. We love you both!

  5. I love the moved in pictures! I too hope you continue to share about your experiences and thoughts on tiny house living, I think we all could could learn from you. The cats look very content. :)

  6. This is so fantastic to see where you are with this process now. I’m so glad that so many tiny house builders have been cataloging their experience to share with the world.

  7. I am so happy for y’all. I’ve been following you from the beginning (yes, I’m a lurker!) and it has been an amazing journey the two of you have undertaken. I actually got chills at this post. I’m really hoping you will continue to post going forward. The picture that really did it for me was the shot from outside, in the snow with the coziness of the lights on in your house. Your very own house that you built! Amazing, you two.

  8. Hey Gabby. I’ve been a follower and admirer for a while now. Is it weird that I want more pics of your done digs? You all have so many great space-saving ideas…I would love to see more of the finished and used space. No pressure…but wow…inspirational. Thanks for taking us on the journey with you both.

  9. Gary Spoerre said:

    So where is the tiny house these days? Still parked at Camp, or have you found a new bit of terra firma? Hoping you’re both well and having a good start to this new year. Have thought about you many many times this past year, more than a bit envious of your adventure. Life is about “what’s next”… hope this new year is a good one for you both.

  10. Congratulations!!! I agree you should keep a journal this year about the realities of living in a tiny home and publish it. I would love to keep following your adventures. I am building my Fencil in June. Now that you are in would you do anything different with the design? NOel

  11. I feel like the others who commented. Your journey has been so inspirational to all of us wanna be’s in a tiny home too. Hope you can find the time to document occasionally on your first year of living “tiny”. The best of luck, always, to you both.

  12. I love the picture of the cats on their shelves! How are they adjusting to the new digs?

    I have been reading your posts while at work, and have been slowly going through them. I didn’t realize when I started that you had not moved in, and have only caught up to the present in the past two weeks. Now I look forward to your new posts with such anticipation. Please keep sharing! All of us dreamers out here are learning from you and cheering you on. My girlfriend and I are planning to build our own house one day, and I hope we get started on our dream soon.

  13. Hi Evan and Gabby, I’ve really been getting benefit from reading thru your blog as I prep to build my own tiny house starting in a couple months! I am currently considering insulation and I was hoping now that you’ve been living in your house for a bit, if you might share with me your current opinion of the wool insulation. Are you happy with it? Would you have used something different? Is the house drafty in any areas? Your experiential wisdom is invaluable. Best wishes to you both, thank you for sharing!

    • Hi there Casitabella,

      Thanks for your kind message. We are still quite thrilled with our choice of insulation. The natural wool from Oregon Shepherd has been phenomenal. No drafts that we’ve noticed this winter. It’s been quite cozy!

      Best of luck with your build. It will change your life!

      Evan & Gabby

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers

